Mathias Heikenwälder

Mathias Heikenwälder

Head, Division of Chronic Inflammation and Cancer Infection, Inflammation and Cancer

Degrees and studies

2009 - Habilitation (PD) in ‘Experimental Pathology’ at the Medical Faculty; University of Zurich, Switzerland
2001-2004 - PhD at the Institute of Neuropathology, University Hospital Zurich (USZ) / Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (ETH), Zurich, Switzerland
1999-2001 - Diploma in Molecular Biology at Max-Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine (MDC), Berlin, Germany
1995-2001 - Studies of Microbiology and Genetics, University of Vienna

Major previous appointments

since 2015 - Division Head “Chronic Inflammation and Cancer”, DKFZ
since 2015 - W3 Professor at University of Heidelberg
2010-2015 - Helmholtz Young Investigators group leader with a tenure track at the Institute of Virology, Helmholtz Zentrum München, HMGU, Germany
2010-2015 - W2 Professor with a tenure track at the Technische Universität München, Germany
2007-2010 - Group leader, Prof. Max-Cloëtta fellow and lecturer at the Department of Pathology, University Hospital Zurich (USZ) / Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (ETH), Zurich, Switzerland

Activities in the scientific community / Professional memberships (selection)

since 2015 - Chair of the Cancer Inflammation Program (CIP) at the DKFZ
since 2013 - Editorial Board Member in the Journal “Cancer Research”
since 2013 - Reviewer for the German Research Foundation (DFG) and the German Cancer Aid
since 2011 - Ad hoc Referee for Cell, Cancer Cell, Nature Medicine, Nature Immunology, Nature Communications, Cancer Research, Journal of Clinical Investigation, Immunity, Science

Honors and awards (selection)

2015 - ERC Consolidator Grant on the topic of ‘HepatoMetaboPath’
2013 - Walther and Christine Richtzenhain Prize for ‘Translation Research in Cancer'
2012 - Peter-Hans Hofschneider Award for ‘Research in Gastroenterology’
2010 - ERC Starting Grant on the topic of ‘Livercancermechanism’
2009 - Götz Prize for ‘Investigating the role of chronic inflammation in disease’
2007 - Prof. Dr. Max Cloëtta Award for ‘Neuroinflammation Research’
2006 - Empiris Award for Brain Research
2000 - Erasmus Fellowship